Solo and Sakit

This Friday we had a going away party for Taomo. It was sad. She is leaving a week early because he grandmother is really sick. This makes me sad. We are all going to miss her a whole bunch. Taomo is awesome and the program will be a little less awesome without her.

This Saturday a group of us (Myself, Emma, Jack, Julia, Matt and James) went to Solo. Emma, Jack, Julia and I had plans to visit the kraton (palace) and the batik museum. Matt and James had plans to visit a movie theatre and see The Dark Knight. So we all piled into a travel at 9am and made our way to Solo. We first dropped the boys off at a mall with a movie theatre (and J.Co Coffee mmm) and then we headed off to the kraton. It was honestly, kind of hot, kind of boring, and kind of hard for me to understand.

Entrance to the Karaton Museum

Maybe I was so bored because I was hot and having difficulty understanding the Indonesian. Ce la vie. It was nice to see and now I have been there. The best part was Jack was wearing shorts which are not appropriate for the karaton so he had to put on these awesome pants (and take off his flip-flops) while we were in the karaton. hehe.

Jack’s Super Pants

Then we went to the batik museum. Which was awesome. First we got there and there wasn’t any tour guide to show us around. So we went to go get lunch. This ended up being a poor choice. More on that later. When we finally got back we were allowed to take out tour. We weren’t allowed to take photos… not because the batik is copy-written but because the interior design is… stupid. However, the batik in the museum, just trust me, was freakin beautiful. They had batik from all ages and races. From the Dutch to the Chinese to the Japanese in WWII. They also had traditional batik from both the Solo and the Yogyakarta kratons. It was very neat. The gift store was just as neat… however, about 10x out of my price range. So we went to a pasar (market) to do some shopping after the batik museum. This was a much more successful shopping experience. Although both Emma and I felt a little iffy in our stomachs at the time. After shopping we went to pick up the boys at the mall and eat yummy donuts and drink yummy drinks at J.Co. We also went to a grocery store and picked up some food for the ride home. We all piled back into the car and headed home with our cranky driver. He had been cranky all day and I think he really wanted to get home because suddenly he was speed racer. I was not ok with this. Luckily it was a short drive. Not short enough for Julia though. She felt a bit sick mid way through the drive. For me it didn’t happen till later that evening. I got sick at about 9pm and it lasted all through Sunday. I still feel  a bit icky now. Stupid lunch.  Oh well. Live and learn. Now off to do some homework since I haven’t yet because I was too sick to use the internet Sunday. Hooray.

3 thoughts on “Solo and Sakit

Leave a comment