Have I talked about soup?

OK, so today was a good day. Why? I’m not really sure. It just was. It started with me sleeping through the call to prayer which was awesome. I also woke up with only a few mosquito bites. Whoo. Already a good start to an Indonesian morning. I then had the much spoken of yet not yet acquired “cheese donut.” Yes friends this is a sweet donut with frosting and topped with cheese. This was handed to me with a piece of cake for breakfast. It wasn’t half bad if you’re curious. Would I buy it? No. Would I eat it if someone put it in front of me? Ya of course. I do love cheese. And then I went to class. I went to class early and a lone and didn’t feel pressured to do anything or be proper or wait for anyone or like that. It was very nice. Very nice indeed. I also got to the LTC building early enough to check my mail, check facebook, and make sure I understood the questions for today’s discussion on religion. I did. We didn’t end up using any of them. But I understood them. Huzzah.

Megan was not with us this morning because she stayed in Jogja over the weekend after the excursion and the company lied to her about when her car would leave. They said 6am. It didn’t leave till 8am. So the four of trudged our way into our least favorite class: Tata Bahasa. This class is a review class and not terrible in concept at all. It should be my favorite class. However Ibu Ika, who is a sweet woman bless her heart, but she is very, veeery, veeeeerry slooooooooooow. Yes, I know what you are thinking… I complain when they speak too fast and when they speak to slow. Well, yes. I do. SO there. Also, second argument, this isn’t just me. The other students agree that that speed is a mind numbing pace at which to be learning. Then for a short 40 minutes we had Pak Henry. Pak Henry is by far my favorite. Not only does he not make me feel like an idiot for being lost a lot he also draws a lot of pictures on the board. It is a fun way to learn words we have forgotten or simply are new. We also play hangman. Because why? Because learning is FUNdamental. BAM.

Also today we had a long lecture, it wasn’t very organized and started late. Not my favorite things. However, it was the rector of the university and he was discussing his push (as a pastor of all things) for traditional religious rights within Indonesia. That was interesting. Everyone should have religious freedoms, people. That is just how it should be. Indonesia has a very interesting religious system on it’s ID cards. You have to claim a religion and it has to be one of six: Islam, Christian, Catholic, Hinduism, Buddhism, or Confucianism. Which means, yes, sorry Jew-Friends… that religion is not valid here. Also, many others and the choice to not have one. It is an issue of debate for some people. If you can imagine…

Then? Oh then it was lunch. Lunch was catered by a new group today. Apparently they are on two week rotations or something. Whatever the case may be, I don’t care because it was delicious. I had two bowls of the soup because it was so good. Also, NO seafood! So thats a bonus. I could eat everything. Including the fresh fruit. Also the soup, have I mentioned the soup?

We then watched a movie in Indonesian “Tanda-Tanya.” It was pretty good and *drumroll* had subtitles! Huzzah! It is about people really but also about the different religions of Indonesia and the toll that takes on the people of Indonesia. It was pretty good and I’d recommend it for UH’s South East Asian film series. Do it. You know you want to. After the movie we all, the COTI peeps and some PIBBI folk, sat and did homework from 3 till 5. That was very much needed. There were a lot of words I didn’t know in the reading for tomorrow. It is all about the issues Indonesian’s have run into with interfaith marriage. It amazes me that that is still an issue in the world. One day you will just be able to marry the person you love. Or Robot. I’m down with Robosexuality too people. Man, I miss Futurama. That show makes me giggle.

Ok, now that I have finished this and I have 45 minutes left on my computer battery I guess now is a good time to hit the dusty trail and catch an angkota back to the homestay.

Sampai besok!