Mini Rant

“I don’t understand” should not mean “speak faster” in any language. I keep running into this problem here. Not with Bu Riny but with others. Even teachers. I know they, for the most part, are just thinking about how to explain it and different words to use and they get excited and what not and speed up. But that in no way helps. 90% of the time I just didn’t understand you because you were speaking too fast to begin with. So speeding up and using different words wont help. Just say what you said slower. And if I still don’t get it, simplify it. Don’t use more complicated words, please.

“I don’t know” means I don’t know. Not keep explaining it to me till I remember. People keep asking me if I like things. I tell them I haven’t had it yet. So they keep explaining it to me. Yes, see above. Chances are I didn’t understand you the first time. But if I keep saying “I don’t know” I really don’t know. Explaining a certain dish to me in 100 different ways isn’t going to make me magically have had it in the past. I don’t know if I like it. I haven’t had it. belum belum belum. I, of course, would never be rude in this situation I just sit and listen and keep saying I haven’t had it, and I don’t know if I like it yet. I tried once just saying I liked it… then they asked me why. Then I was in a pickle. So I said I don’t know.

5 thoughts on “Mini Rant

  1. Sometimes asking them to “repeat and speak slowly please” might help. At least that is what they suggest in my Arabic language lessons – though I suspect you have tried this already. Love, Dad.

Leave a comment