The First Day Off

OMG They wont stop feeding me. I have come so close to vomiting from too much food in my stomach more times than I’d like to admit. This morning I thought I would get away with not eating because we are supposed to receive lunch and I would be gone for lunch. Nope. Bu Riny insisted I eat breakfast. It was a bowl of fried noodles and cereal. It was very good but after last nights giant meal + 4  mini cakes I was still full! Then the eldest daughter, Keisha, came in and offered me these cookie crisps from Sumatra. Again, they were delicious. Really buttery and yummy. But when you put that on top of the giant dinner I am stuffed!

Also I realize I have somehow lost $50 US. I have either stuffed it somewhere really safe because I’m keeping money in different places in case I get some stolen or lose some (like now) or I dropped money possible in combo with the phone place not giving me the right change. I’m thinking I dropped some while putting it back in my purse because I have looked EVERYWHERE. I just don’t know how I lost 450,000 rupiah. That is four 100,000 bills and a 50,000 bill. How did I do that? UGH. That is a trip to the beach right there or a bunch of souvenirs. Lost. I’m so mad at myself I can’t even begin to explain it. If I wasn’t so full I’d kick myself.

So without my $50 I went off to campus to meet the girls from COTI (Emma, Julia, and Megan). We also met Daniel, one of the LTC friends who went with us to Ramayana. Daniel did not make it long, he was bored with our shopping pretty quickly and ditched out. We walked around a bit an then decided to go get head massages at this hotel Team Merah had won coupons for. We took the 5 angkota out a bit to the hotel. It was really nice. HOwever, we found out most of the coupons only work Mon – Thurs. Days we are all in class. But oh well. The head massages we wanted were only $6 US. So we sign up for them and wait a bit and go it to get them. They turned out to actually be more of a facial than a head and face massage. Which was fine with me, but not so good for Julia who has sensitive skin. She was not too pleased with the stuff that was put on our faces since it made her face burn. I was ok though… live and learn ya?

Then we (Emma, Julia, and myself) went to go get lotek for lunch. Lotek is basically boiled vegtables, tofu, and rice with a yummy peanut sauce. I also chanced ice tea with ice in it. Since we aren’y supposed to drink the water I drank this fast before the ice really melted. After lotek we walked back to the market and walked around for a bit. Emma left us at this point and we ran into Matt who had just stopped by the Wahid gym. We did a bit more shopping until it was close to 5. I went home and got my computer and now we (Megan, James, and myself) are at Kopi Frame using the internet. I should be studying but it is really dark in here… yes. That is my excuse and I’m sticking to it. Well… FINE, I’ll start studying now. Adios.

 

Leave a comment