Duck, Duck, Work.

I had a somewhat productive day today. Minus the late start. I woke up when my breakfast was delivered but ended up taking a nap. I feel so much better after I got those pills from the doctor but I am still a bit worn down. Several days of not sleeping well thanks to the phlegm titanic crashing into my throat and the screaming child that was here for a few days can take it out of a girl. So after my nap I did get up, shower, and head off to a coffee shop to take advantage of the faster wifi so I could download some videos off my cloud while I read with a hot drink. Two of those things happened… When I got to J.Co I realized that I had not uploaded the documents I wanted to read to the cloud like I wanted. Oh well.

Instead I did download two videos to watch this evening before I go to bed, emailed some people to hopefully set up meetings, searched for some articles, found a few news articles, and translated some small things. Let me tell you, emailing people to set up meetings makes me nervous. I’m not sure why. The worst thing that could happen is they say no. Then I could email someone else. I sure don’t ever want them to say no though. Also, I know there is a festival coming up I want to go to and I spent most of the day trying to find more information about it. I felt like Nancy Drew searching down Carmen Sandiego. I know where it is, the time, and one performer but I would like to know more. Doesn’t seem to be out there. Guess I will just be surprised.

After a few hours in the coffee shop the youths seemed to be out and about and smoking up a storm. I don’t know if I’ll ever get used to smoking inside. It just sits. Doesn’t go anywhere. Not my favorite. So I finished up my green tea latte and headed out to grab a taxi. Sometime soon I will have my own motorbike but for a few more days it is taxi time. I got home and sat for a bit, had some bottled water, and handled some business before heading out for some dinner.

Mmmm duck.

Mmmm duck.

Tonight I walked down a bit to a restaurant named “Quack Quack.” Guess what the specialize in? Pork. No just kidding, it’s duck. It was good duck too. I got a fried duck leg, white rice, some sambal, and some veggies. The duck was great. Very crispy. I will be back to try the other duck plates. Especially since the whole meal, including my coke, was 20,000 rupiah ($1.70). I see some more duck in my future. As I was paying for dinner the cashier lady informed me that the cook wanted to take a photo with me. A lot of the time I don’t really want people taking my photo. It happens so often that eventually you get a little sick of it. However, in this case the food was really good and I knew I wanted to come back. So what the hell. Plus there are probably more pictures of me floating around than I can count. From the “No, I’m toooooootally not taking a photo of you foreign lady” pics people take of me when I’m just sitting or walking around. After that I walked my foreign self home. Then I saw a martabak stand setting up on my way back from my early dinner. That is also in my future now that I know it is there and about when it’ll be ready. Martabak is a popular street food in Indonesia. It is a type of pancake. So yes, gluteny. So I’ll have to get it on a day I feel good and can take a bit of gluten. It’ll be worth it. This stand looked really good.

Now I am sitting in my apartment resting. I don’t want to push it. Meetings on Monday. Can’t be sick. Maybe some reading before I watch a video.

Night night.

2 thoughts on “Duck, Duck, Work.

  1. Hello, My Dear One – You have sure had your hands full with not feeling well and having to take care of yourself. I send you e-mails, but many times get a response that it doesn’t go through. Let me know if you get this one. Take care of yourself, My Dear. I love you. Grandma

  2. $1.70 for duck dinner?? Mmmm. I agree re the indoor smoking – it was tough in Central Europe and the Middle East, too. We were always looking for someplace we could eat outside. Hope you get used to the paparazzi treatment as I don’t think your novelty is going to wear off anytime soon. Be well. xoxo

Leave a comment